The District of Columbia does not have any educational or registration requirements for private process servers. The Superior Court Rule of Civil Procedure (4)(c)(2) provides as follows:
Service may be effected by any person who is not a party and who is at least 18 years of age. At the request of the plaintiff, however, the Court may direct that service be effected by a United States marshal, deputy United States marshal, or other person or officer specially appointed by the Court for that purpose. Such direction shall be made only (a) when service is to be effected on behalf of the United States or an officer or agency thereof, or (b) when the Court issues an order stating that service by a United States marshal or deputy United States marshal or a person specially appointed for that purpose is required in order that service be properly effected in that particular action.
The requirements for process servers in the state of Delaware vary by court. The Court of Chancery, the Court of Common Please, and the Justice of the Peace Courts all require registration for special process servers.
Court – Requirement
Court of Chancery –Annual registration requirement/No education requirement
Superior Court -No Requirements
Family Court–Delaware Family Court Civil Rule 4(c) requires that “[s]ervice of process shall be made by the sheriff to whom the writ is directed, by a sheriff’s deputy, by a deputy designated and sworn by the Chief Judge, or by some person specially appointed by the Court for that purpose. . . “
Court of Common Pleas–Annual registration requirement. The court has developed a packet with guidance for applicants. There is no separate court order outlining the process.
Justice of the Peace–Annual registration process. The court has developed a packet with guidance for applicants. There is no separate court order outlining the process. Process servers must complete an application and undergo a criminal justice background check.
Service of process upon the Secretary of State shall be made by leaving the original and a copy of the summons and 2 copies of the complaint, with a fee of $20.00 in the hands of the Secretary of State, or someone designated by him in his office, and such service shall be sufficient service upon the nonresident operator, pilot or owner, if
(a) Notice of such service and a copy of the summons, with a copy of the complaint, are forthwith sent by registered mail to the defendant by the Secretary of State, or someone designated by him in his office; and
In Connecticut, state statutes as a general rule prescribe civil service of process to state marshals, constables, Process Servers or “other proper officer[s] authorized by statute.” Conn. Gen. Stat. § 52-50(a).
A State Marshal Commission is established by state statute. Conn. Gen. Stat. § 6-38b. State law mandates that the State Marshal Commission “establish professional standards, including training requirements and minimum fees for execution and service of process.” § 6-38b(f). State regulations detail the qualifications of state marshals, Conn. Agencies Regs. § 6-38b-1, the application process, § 6-38b-2, the examination they must take, § 6-38b-3, and, training that they must attend. § 6-38b-4. The regulations also contain “standards of conduct” for state marshals. § 6-38b-6.
Colorado does not have any education or registration requirements for private process servers. Colorado Rule of Civil Procedure 4(d) provides as follows:
(d) By Whom Served. Process may be served within the United States or its Territories by any person whose age is eighteen years or older, not a party to the action. Process served in a foreign country shall be according to any internationally agreed means reasonably calculated to give notice, the law of the foreign country, or as directed by the foreign authority or the court if not otherwise prohibited by international agreement.
California does not require training, education or licensing for civil process servers.The state, however, does require registration of individuals who serve more than 10 services of process within the state in one year for compensation. Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code § 22350. Process servers register with the county clerk of the county in which they reside or have their principal place of business. Process server organizations must also register.
An Arkansas Supreme Court Order governs the regulation of private process servers in Arkansas. The Order requires appointment of private process servers by the administrative judge of a judicial district or any judge of a circuit court designated by the administrative judge. Ar. Sup. Ct. Admin. Order 20. The Order also sets out minimum qualifications, see Order 20(b), including:
(1) be not less than eighteen years old and a citizen of the United States;
(2) have a high school diploma or equivalent;
(3) not have been convicted of a crime punishable by imprisonment for more than one year or a crime involving dishonesty or false statement, regardless of the punishment;
Alaska has extensive regulation of private process servers. Private process servers are licensed by the Alaska State Department of Public Safety . See e.g., Alaska R. Civ. P.(c); 13 Alaska Admin. Code § 67.010. The Department has issued detailed regulations, which include an examination. 13 Alaska Admin. Code § 67.100.
The Department requires a passing grade of at least 80%. The test contains 50 questions, 25 multiple choice and 25 True or False. The Department makes available a study guide, which we requested but never received.
Alaska regulations also govern qualifications of process servers, 13 Alaska Admin. Code § 67.020; set out standards of professional conduct, § 67.180; impose bond requirements on process servers and process service firms, § 67.920; and require publication of process server fees and that such fees be “reasonable,” 67.220.
Alabama Rule of Civil Procedure 4(i)(1) governs delivery of service by a process server. The statute provides that process is served by a “sheriff or constable.” Ala. R. Civ. P. Rule 4(i)(1)(A). The statute further provides that “[a]s an alternative to delivery by a sheriff . . . process issuing from any court governed by these rules may be served by any person not less than eighteen (18) years of age, who is not a party.” Rule 4(i)(1)(B).