By: Undisputed Legal/Family Court Process Services Department
Usually, the total fees will be approximately $400, as follows:
- Starting the case: It costs $210 to buy a case Index Number at your County Clerk’s Office to start a New York State divorce case.
- Later in the case: Other fees totaling approximately $160 will have to be paid. These additional fees will be described as you follow the steps in this booklet.
- At the end of the case: If the court grants the divorce, several other fees will have to pay for certain legal papers showing that the divorce was approved. These costs vary from county to county, but will roughly total $5-$30.
What if you cannot afford to pay these fees? You can ask the Supreme Court where you are filing the divorce to allow you to do your case without paying them (a “Waiver of Fees”).
Are you in a federal, state, or local correctional institution? If so, and you want to ask for a fee waiver, there is a special procedure. Information on the procedure is available from the Supreme Court Clerk’s Office of the county in which you are incarcerated. If your facility has a law library, see New York Civil Procedure Law and Rules (CPLR) Section 1101(f).
For information on serving legal papers, click here or call (800) 774-6922. Representatives are available Monday-Friday 8 am – 8 pm EST. If you found this article helpful, please consider donating. Thank you for following our blog, A space dedicated to bringing you news on breaking legal developments, interesting articles for law professionals, and educational material for all. We hope that you enjoy your time on our blog and revisit us! We also invite you to check out our Frequently Asked Questions About Process Servers by clicking here.